SecProbe.io

Filing text and metadata
Intelligence Terminal Search Topics Monthly Activity About

Correspondence 0000930413-24-001761 from COLLEGE RETIREMENT EQUITIES FUND (CIK 0000777535)

COLLEGE RETIREMENT EQUITIES FUND (CIK 0000777535)
Date: May 6, 2024 · CIK: 0000777535 · Accession: 0000930413-24-001761

AI Filing Summary & Sentiment

File numbers found in text: 811-04415

Date
May 6, 2024
Author
/s/ Adam T. Teufel
Form
CORRESP
Company
COLLEGE RETIREMENT EQUITIES FUND (CIK 0000777535)

Letter

VIA EDGAR Division of Investment Management, Disclosure Review & Accounting Office 100 F Street, N.E. Washington, D.C. 20549 Re: Comments on Certain Financial Reports of the College Retirement Equities Fund (File Nos. 033-00480 and 811-04415)

Dear Mr. Ellington:

On behalf of College Retirement Equities Fund (the “Registrant”), we are responding to certain comments received from you telephonically on April 8, 2024 based on your review of the Registrant’s December 31, 2023 Annual Report (the “Report”).

Set forth below are the staff’s comments on the Report followed by responses provided on behalf of the Registrant. Capitalized terms used herein have the same meaning as in the Report.

1. In future shareholder reports, although not required, please consider including the total dollar amount and percentage of the portfolio classified as Rule 144A restricted securities.

The Registrant will include in future shareholder reports the dollar amount and percentage of the portfolio classified as Rule 144A restricted securities.

2. In the Report, CREF Growth Account had a significant percentage of its net assets (approximately 42.6%) invested in the information technology sector at fiscal year-end; however, the most recent prospectus does not include information technology sector risk disclosure. Corresponding sector risk disclosure should be included in the prospectus if an Account has a significant amount of its net assets invested in a single sector. If an Account consistently focuses in a particular sector (for example, for a period of three or more years), please explain why the identification of the sector, including the strategies and risks of investing in that sector, are not disclosed in the summary prospectus.

Kenneth Ellington

May 6, 2024

Page 2

The Registrant has added applicable sector risk disclosures to its May 1, 2024 prospectus. Additionally, the Registrant confirms that if an Account has significant sector exposure as of its most recent fiscal year-end, corresponding risk disclosure will be included in the subsequent annual update of its prospectus.

3. Please consider adding a footnote to the Financial Highlights stating that the performance disclosed does not include the fees and expenses imposed by variable contracts.

Unlike the vast majority of variable insurance funds offered to insurance company separate accounts, the Registrant is a single-tier management investment company that issues variable annuity contracts directly to contract owners. Accordingly, the performance disclosed in the Financial Highlights for each class of each Account reflects the variable contract expenses imposed by the Registrant.

4. Responses to Items 4.i. and 4.j. should be provided even if the questions are not applicable. Please provide answers to these questions in correspondence and confirm responses to all Items of Form N-CSR will be provided going forward.

The Registrant agrees with the staff that its most recent N-CSR did not include responses to Items 4.i. and 4.j. as required by the form. The Registrant confirms that the response to each of the questions included within Items 4.i. and 4.j. is “not applicable” for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2023, and responses to all items of Form N-CSR will be responded to on a prospective basis, even if not applicable to the Registrant.

* * * *

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call me at (202) 261-3464.

Sincerely,
/s/ Adam T. Teufel

Show Raw Text
CORRESP
1
filename1.htm

    1900 K Street, NW

    Washington, DC 20006-1110

    +1 202 261 3300 Main

    +1 202 261 3333 Fax

    www.dechert.com

    Adam
    T. Teufel

    adam.teufel@dechert.com

    +1 202 261 3464 Direct

    +1 202 261 3164 Fax

May 6, 2024

VIA EDGAR

Kenneth Ellington

Staff Accountant

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Division of Investment Management, Disclosure Review & Accounting Office

100 F Street, N.E.

Washington, D.C. 20549

	Re:	  Comments
on Certain Financial Reports of the College Retirement Equities Fund

(File Nos. 033-00480 and 811-04415)

Dear Mr. Ellington:

On behalf
of College Retirement Equities Fund (the “Registrant”), we are responding to certain comments received from you telephonically
on April 8, 2024 based on your review of the Registrant’s December 31, 2023 Annual Report (the “Report”).

Set forth below are the staff’s
comments on the Report followed by responses provided on behalf of the Registrant. Capitalized terms used herein have the same meaning
as in the Report.

1.
In future shareholder reports, although not required, please consider including the total dollar
amount and percentage of the portfolio classified as Rule 144A restricted securities.

The
Registrant will include in future shareholder reports the dollar amount and percentage of the portfolio classified as Rule 144A restricted
securities.

2.
In the Report, CREF Growth Account had a significant percentage of its net assets (approximately
42.6%) invested in the information technology sector at fiscal year-end; however, the most recent prospectus does not include information
technology sector risk disclosure. Corresponding sector risk disclosure should be included in the prospectus if an Account has a significant
amount of its net assets invested in a single sector. If an Account consistently focuses in a particular sector (for example, for a period
of three or more years), please explain why the identification of the sector, including the strategies and risks of investing in that
sector, are not disclosed in the summary prospectus.

Kenneth Ellington

May 6, 2024

Page 2

The Registrant
has added applicable sector risk disclosures to its May 1, 2024 prospectus. Additionally, the
Registrant confirms that if an Account has significant sector exposure as of its most recent fiscal year-end, corresponding risk disclosure
will be included in the subsequent annual update of its prospectus.

3.
Please consider adding a footnote to the Financial Highlights stating that the performance disclosed
does not include the fees and expenses imposed by variable contracts.

Unlike
the vast majority of variable insurance funds offered to insurance company separate accounts, the Registrant is a single-tier management
investment company that issues variable annuity contracts directly to contract owners. Accordingly, the performance disclosed in the Financial
Highlights for each class of each Account reflects the variable contract expenses imposed by the Registrant.

4.
Responses to Items 4.i. and 4.j. should be provided even if the questions are not applicable. Please
provide answers to these questions in correspondence and confirm responses to all Items of Form N-CSR will be provided going forward.

The
Registrant agrees with the staff that its most recent N-CSR did not include responses to Items 4.i. and 4.j. as required by the form.
The Registrant confirms that the response to each of the questions included within Items 4.i. and 4.j. is “not applicable”
for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2023, and responses to all items of Form N-CSR will be responded to on a prospective basis, even
if not applicable to the Registrant.

* * * *

If you have any questions, please
do not hesitate to call me at (202) 261-3464.

    Sincerely,

    /s/ Adam T. Teufel

    Adam T. Teufel

    cc:

    Rachael Zufall, Nuveen

    Jeremy Franklin, Nuveen

    Scott Wickerham, Nuveen

    Gina Spunder, Nuveen

    Michael Camerano, Nuveen